

## **Press Release**

Feb. 3, 2022

## SCSP Holds Second Board of Advisors Meeting

ARLINGTON, VA — On February 2, the Special Competitive Studies Project (SCSP) convened its second Board of Advisors meeting in Arlington, Virginia. Chaired by Dr. Eric Schmidt, the advisory board members — Bob Work, Dr. Nadia Schadlow, Mac Thornberry, and Michèle Flournoy — and expert advisors met for a series of roundtable discussions with thought leaders on SCSP's objectives and hard questions.

"Wednesday's discussions focused on three areas of our work - democracy affirming technology development and policy, implications of future technology platforms for national competitiveness, and strategic rivalry with China," said SCSP CEO Ylli Bajraktari.

"The discussion led by Reid Hoffman, Dr. Ian Bremmer and Dr. Eric Horvitz was thought-provoking and added great value to the work of the talented SCSP staff," said SCSP Chair Dr. Schmidt. "I look forward to SCSP building on its momentum and developing a strategy to move faster and more competitively regarding critical technologies."

Board and staff were joined by a growing group of bipartisan experts who will help develop recommendations. SCSP Board of Advisors Member Dr. Schadlow explained, "Our advisors bring with them expertise from the private, public, and academic sectors that is essential in developing policies that can be implemented and that are more likely to be supported by private sector players, as well as our friends and allies."

Dr. Henry Kissinger spoke to the board of advisors, experts and SCSP staff, sharing with them the problems he and his colleagues addressed while working in the Rockefeller Special Studies Project and the challenges SCSP faces today. He commended the group on the tasking they are undertaking.

SCSP's expert advisors are leaders from industry, academia and government. The growing list of advisors includes:

Dr. Chris Ahlberg, Dr. Rob Atkinson, Nick Beim, Dr. Hal Brands, Dr. Erik Brynjolfsson, Mignon Clyburn, Dr. David Danks, Chris Darby, Rodney Faraon, Nate Fick, Christine Fox, Glenn Gaffney, Bonnie Glick, Greg Grant, Dr. Jose-Marie Griffiths, Reid Hoffman, Ben Horowitz, Dr. Eric Horvitz, Gilman Louie, Dr. Mike McQuade, Dawn Meyerriecks, RADM (Ret.) Mark Montgomery, DJ Nordquist, Matt Pottinger, Dr. Condoleezza Rice, Steve Rosen, Jonathan Rosenberg, Raj Shah, Lt Gen (Ret.) Jack Shanahan, Dean Souleles, and Dr. Amy Zegart



For more information about SCSP, please contact Senior Director for Communications and Public Affairs Tara Rigler at tmr@scsp.ai. To subscribe to the new SCSP newsletter, please click here: <u>2-2-2</u>.